Congratulations to April Hastwell for being awarded the prestigious Molly Butz-Olsen Fellowship.  The three year award was given to April by the Fellowship Fund Inc., a division of Graduate Women Queensland, based on her PhD work identifying factors that regulate legume nodule development.  April is supervised by Dr Brett Ferguson and Prof. Peter Gresshoff.

 Congratulations again to April Hastwell for winning the Alan H. Gibson Award.  The award includes $500 and is given to a student or early career researcher for best oral presentation at the Australian Nitrogen Fixation Conference, which took place Sept 28th – Oct 2nd in Adelaide, South Australia.  The title of April’s talk was: Negative regulation of legume nodules by inducible signal peptides.
Congratulations to Brett Ferguson who was presented with the prestigious Peter Goldacre Award and Medal.  The award was given to Brett by the Australian Society of Plant Scientists (ASPS), who each year recognise an Early Career Researcher in the field of plant science. It included the invitation to publish an article at the journal of Functional Plant Biology, $2,000 and the opportunity to present a Plenary lecture at the annual ComBio conference, which took place Sept 28th – Oct 2nd in Canberra, at the National Convention Centre.  The title of Brett’s talk was: Discovery of new factors involved in the development and autoregulation of legume nodules. Attached are photos of the medal and of Brett receiving the award from the ASPS president, Prof. Tim Colmer. The manuscript submitted to Functional Plant Biology has already been provisionally accepted for publication and should be available in the near future:
Hastwell AH, Gresshoff PM, Ferguson BJ (2014) The structure and activity of nodulation-suppressing CLE peptide hormones of legumes. Functional Plant Biology, Goldacre Paper, submitted and provisionally accepted.

On this site

Go to top